Beyoncé Discography Data Analysis Project (Journal Entry #1)

Beyoncé Discography Data Analysis Project (Journal Entry #1)

Yesterday, I started my data analysis project concerning Beyoncé's solo discography, from Dangerously in Love to RENAISSANCE. My goal with this project is to answer the question: How has Beyoncé's sound/voice changed throughout her career? To determine this, I will be collecting data on her song lyrics, the theme of each song, her vocal range, vocal classification, BPM, and genre. I will also incorporate Spotify's Web API to get information about each track's

  • mood (danceability, valence, energy, tempo)
  • properties (loudness, speechiness, instrumentalness)
  • context (liveness, acousticness)
  • and...segments, tatums, bars, beats, timbre, etc.

I've been collecting data on the first album, Dangerously In Love using Google Sheets, but I'm running into issues with finding reliable and consistent information — especially with vocal range and BPM. The most reliable source of information that I've found so far was official sheet music by Alfred Music Publishing, however, it is not available for every song. I think I'll have to just skip that part to focus on getting more data on the song lyrics.